PostHeaderIcon Ethics Review Commiitee-MRI

                                                                                                           last updated 05.04.2017


Main objective of the Ethics Review Committee at Medical Research Institute (ERC/MRI) is to promote and facilitate ethical research through efficient and effective review and monitoring processes. The committee comprise of medical and non-medical members from the institution, outside the institution, non-scientific competent members and an Attorney At-Law.

It is the only ERC in Ministry of Health recognized by the subcommittee of clinical trials of the NMRA to evaluate clinical trials in Sri Lanka.


The present chairman of the committee is Dr. Dharshan De Silva, Consultant Physician and the Secretary is Dr. Lilani Karunanayake, Consultant Microbiologist at Medical Research Institute, Ministry of Health. Ms. R.R.N. Rajapakshe, SMLT Quality control laboratory, Department of Bacteriology serves as the Assistant Secretary in the committee.


Member List 2017: Ethics Review Committee, Medical Research Institute, Ministry of Health


Name                                                        Designation                                       Position at ERC

Dr. Dharshan De Silva                   Consultant Physician, MRI                                  Chairperson

Dr. Lilani Karunanayake                 Consultant Microbiologist, MRI                            Secretary

Dr. Rajiva de Silva                        Consultant Immunologist, MRI                              Member

Mr. R. Ramesh                             Research Officer, MRI                                             Member

Dr. M. Thammitiyagodage               Veterinary Surgeon, MRI                                    Member

Dr. Shreenika De Silva Weliange           Senior Lecturer,                                           Member

                                                   Department of Community Medicine,

                                                        Faculty of medicine,


Mr. C. Jayadeva                     Attorney-at-Law                                                        Member

Ms. Kumudini  Kulatunga        Research Officer, MRI                                                Member

Mr. Y. Nanayakkara               Retired, Management Consultant                               Member

Ms. Devika Perera                 Research Officer, MRI                                                 Member

Dr. Sujatha Pathirage            Consultant Microbiologist, MRI                                   Member

Dr. Gaya Katulanda               Consultant Chemical Pathologist, MRI                        Member

Dr. Nishara Fernando             Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology,

                                            Faculty of Arts, University of Colombo                          Member

Dr. Priyanka Herath             Consultant Haematologist, MRI                                     Member

Ms. Neeta De Silva               Retired, Vice President, 

                                            John Keells Holdings PLC                                              Member

Dr. Champika Ratnayake       Consultant Histopathologist, MRI                               Member

Dr. Dulmini Kumarasinghe     Consultant Virologist, MRI                                          Member

Dr. R. Karunankaran              Veterinary Surgeon, MRI                                            Member

Dr. Kanthi Nanayakkara          Consultant Virologist, MRI                                         Member

Dr. Sudath Samaraweera         Director, Cancer Control Program, MoH                    Member